Retired Stephenson County Sheriff’s Deputy and Freeport Businessman Brian Stewart (R, Freeport) has been selected to become the next Illinois State Representative for the newly drawn 89th Stewart, a fifth generation native of Northwest Illinois, is an Army veteran and graduate of Freeport High School. Upon completion of his service, Stewart returned to Freeport to serve as a Stephenson County Sheriff’s Deputy, eventually joining a major case squad serving the nine northwestern most counties in Illinois, an area encompassing the entire 89th With a knack for business, Stewart retired from law enforcement and today successfully employs over 300 people and manages over 20 businesses, the majority of which are centered in his hometown of Freeport.

As State Representative, his primary focus will be putting Illinois in a regulatory and financial position to create good paying agricultural, manufacturing and middle class jobs that can rejuvenate Illinois’ ailing economy. With that, Stewart has zeroed in on the pension crisis as the top issue driving the state’s budget woes, and has committed towards working in a bipartisan manner to resolve the issue. In addition to his professional career, Stewart has served as Freeport Alderman, Freeport Township Trustee, Public Safety Committeeman and Vice Chairman of Community Development. He’s also served as Chairman and Board Member of the Northwest Illinois Criminal Justice Commission, Freeport Area Chamber of Commerce and Northwest Illinois Development Alliance.

In addition, he’s the former Chairman of the United Way of Northwest Illinois and current member of the Freeport Rotary, AMVETS Post 32, Stephenson County Farm Bureau, FHN Foundation and was the Charter President of the Stephenson County Employees – UAW Local 2261. His active duty military service began in 1975 where he served as a military policeman and investigator and was honorably discharged in 1978. As a lifelong Republican, Stewart is also a current Committeemen and past Chairman of the Stephenson County Republican Central Committee. Legislative District. District.